Coconut Banana Walnut Muffins

All this fog we’ve been having really makes me crave muffins.  As you probably know from my previous post, I love the combination of muffins and fog.  🙂  I don’t know about you, but I’m SO READY for fall!  

Fall is definitely my favorite time of year.  For one thing, if I could get paid to be a student forever, I would be.  I miss the feeling of new school schedules, a sense of excitement about the upcoming school year and the things I would learn.  I’m not a student anymore, but I think fall still gives me a sense of new beginnings.  I love watching the vineyards change color, and the refreshing feeling of the fog that rolls in every evening and doesn’t clear until mid-morning.  I love butternut squash, pumpkin and sweet potatoes.  And last but definitely NOT least, I LOVE BOOTS.  I treat myself to at least one pair of new boots every fall, and it is my most favorite treat of the year. I wear boots with just about everything I can, and I was so excited when skinny jeans and boots came back into style!  I’m already trying to rock mine, even though it was like 90 degrees by mid-day yesterday and I almost died.   

There’s just nothing like the smell of muffins in the oven on a foggy Saturday morning.  

IMG_1490

We’ve been working super hard the last few weeks, so it was so nice to take it easy this morning and enjoy breakfast together.  I’ve been Paleo-curious lately, which is perfect for our household because my husband just started doing CrossFit, and they encourage a Paleo diet.  So my first intention here was to experiment with a Paleo muffin recipe.  I used a recipe for Banana Nut Chocolate Chip Muffins, from Paleo Newbie, as a springboard, although I made several changes that caused them not to be strictly Paleo.    

For one, the recipe called for almond flour, which I didn’t have on hand.  So I substituted sweet white sorghum flour instead.  

IMG_1458

Sorghum is a cereal grain that was initially domesticated in Ethiopia and Sudan.  It has a neutral, slightly sweet flavor and is gluten free.  It is definitely much more dry than almond flour, though, so I had to add extra banana and egg to this recipe to compensate.  Sorghum flour is not strictly Paleo, because it is still highly starchy.  However, it is considered slightly “primal” and is much better, according to The Paleo List, than eating gluten-packed grains.  

I opted out of using chocolate chips in these as well, and instead used unsweetened, shredded coconut along with walnuts, honey, bananas, and cinnamon.  Yum.  

IMG_1457

 

 

While you’re baking, don’t forget to make yourself a cup of coffee, or if you’re like me, black vanilla tea with a little milk of your choosing…

IMG_1463

 

Mix up your wet ingredients, separate from your dry, then combine in one big bowl of deliciousness.  

IMG_1461

 

Then pop these in a 350° oven for 22-25 minutes.  

While I baked, Daphne napped…

IMG_1510

 

And after they were done, we sat down to enjoy breakfast at the table.  A rare treat!  Of course, Sunday watched intently for her inevitable bite of scrambled eggs.  

IMG_1488

 

She’s so irresistible that we always give in and share.  

IMG_1489 

Bad parenting, we know.  But we figure, Danes have shorter lives, so shouldn’t they just be spoiled?  🙂  Speaking of spoiled, it’s time for you to spoil yourselves and get some of these baking during this holiday weekend.  Especially if you live where it’s foggy in the mornings, like me.  

IMG_1491 IMG_1495 IMG_1496 IMG_1501

You will most certainly not regret it!  Now that I’ve had this treat, next on my holiday weekend list involves a dinner date tonight, and my annual boot shopping.  (YES!)  What are you cooking up this weekend?  

 

Coconut Banana Walnut Muffins

Makes 12 muffins

Ingredients

3 ripe bananas, mashed

1 1/2 cups sorghum flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. cinammon

pinch of salt

4 eggs, whisked

1/4 cup coconut oil, melted

2 Tbsp. raw honey

1 tsp. vanilla

1/3 cup chopped walnuts

1/2 cup unsweetened, shredded coconut

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350°.  In a medium bowl, combine the mashed bananas, melted coconut oil, whisked eggs, honey and vanilla.  In a larger bowl, mix the sorghum flour, cinnamon, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.  Pour wet ingredients into dry and mix well.  Fold in the coconut and walnuts.  Pour into a nonstick cupcake baking pan and bake for 22-25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into muffin comes out clean.  

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

