Quick and easy protein banana pancakes

This morning I woke up to the gorgeous sound and smell of… RAIN!  We are in a drought here in California, and we’ve had hardly any rain at all this year.  Everything is so dry and to have some rainfall as we were sleeping last night was so perfectly wonderful.  I love sleeping with the window open and listening to the rain, feeling it’s damp air while I’m all snuggled up with my husband and our great dane.  Pure bliss, I tell you!

And you know what rain makes me think of?  Banana pancakes.  I make some mean banana pancakes, and this morning seemed like the perfect time to make them.  Except that, I’m not going to just indulge in some unhealthy stack of pancakes all alone, on a weekday, you know?  So I decided to make a quick, healthier version and guess what?  I like them even BETTER than the “real thing!”  They have a nice, light and spongy texture that doesn’t leave you feeling stuffed like a regular pancake would, plus they are low in calories and high in protein.  Win-win!

While I was making these, the usual doggie chaos was ensuing all around me.  Puppies are a lot of work, people.  If you’re thinking of getting one, I would just warn you that your life will change drastically for a while.  This morning, for example, was Daphne’s first time to see rain!  How exciting, right?  Yeah, until you need her to go potty outside… and then… not so much.  She has absolutely refused to go for the last 15 hours, and I know she needs to.  Which causes me to have to take her outside and stand around in the wet, cold rain for minutes at a time trying to coax her into going.  And then giving up, bringing her back in, and trying to watch her every move while trying not to burn the pancakes… you get the picture.  The bottom line is, this puppy is a little princess who doesn’t want to expose her booty to the wet cold.  I suppose I can’t blame her.

Anyway back to the pancakes!  And please forgive me for the segue into puppy potty training… probably not the best mix of topics.  Hopefully you’re a dog lover and you understand.  🙂

These are super easy, guilt free, and will satisfy your craving for a warm, sweet breakfast treat!  IMG_1615

Best of all, they use ingredients you probably have on hand.  Take some oats (I used quick cooking, but regular oats would work just the same).

IMG_1607

Throw a cup of oats in the blender with egg whites, an overripe banana, a dash of cinnamon, stevia, baking powder, and a dash of salt.

IMG_1608

Please excuse the crooked blender picture… I’m including it because of the humor of taking this photo with two great danes underfoot, causing me to have to lean over at weird angles while photographing… real life!  Blend for 30 seconds on medium-high.  Heat a non-stick skillet and coat with cooking spray, then just cook these like regular pancakes, on medium-high heat.  Wait for the bubbles to show in the top of the pancakes, then flip!

IMG_1609 IMG_1610

Top with a dollop of plain, organic yogurt,

IMG_1611

and one teaspoon of real maple syrup.  Mmmmm…..

IMG_1612

I love the light, springy texture of these pancakes, so light that you can eat a whole stack and feel no guilt!

IMG_1616 IMG_1615

Meanwhile, Sunday waited patiently for her bite.  She got the first one, which was a dud, but of course she doesn’t care what it looks like.

IMG_1620

This is Sunday, and I approve of these pancakes.  🙂

Quick and Easy Protein Banana Pancakes

Ingredients

1 cup oats (quick cooking or regular)

1 overripe banana

6 egg whites

1 1/2 tsp. stevia

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp baking powder

dash of salt

plain, organic yogurt for topping

1 tsp real maple syrup

Instructions

Combine oats, banana, egg whites, stevia, cinnamon, baking powder, and salt in a blender and blend on medium-high for 30 seconds.  Heat a nonstick skillet coated with cooking spray, and cook pancakes two or three at a time, allowing bubbles to form and pop before flipping.  Top with a dollop of yogurt and 1 tsp of maple syrup.  Enjoy your guilt-free indulgence!

Leave a Reply

