Kale-Sausage-Butternut Squash Soup

Yesterday was one of those days where all I could think about making was soup.  The crisp, fall air always has me craving pumpkin (duh, I’m a white girl) and butternut squash.  Earlier in the week, I had stumbled upon this recipe from the sisters over at Spinach 4 Breakfast and I knew I had to try it.  Typically, my favorite go-to fall soup has always been a kale-white bean-sausage combo, but lately I’ve been making an effort to avoid foods that are difficult to digest (ahem, white beans).  So I had already been planning on a kale-sausage combo sans beans or lentils.  Butternut squash seemed like the perfect substitute.

IMG_1641

On a side note, it seems massively unfair that as we’re cruising into fall, my favorite season of the year, I am STILL sitting here with major allergies, like the kind that are usually gone as we go from spring to summer.  I mean, hello, it’s two seasons past spring!  And my nose is still all stuffy and itchy.  Stupid California drought.

Anyway this is basically the fastest, easiest soup you could hope to whip up if you’re feeling lazy.  All you need to do is chop up some sausage (I used an organic, mild Italian chicken sausage here, but you could switch up the flavor), onion and lacinto (dinosaur) kale.  If you’re feeling extra lazy like I was here, you can even buy pre-cubed butternut squash like I did.  Although I did chop the cubes up a little smaller than they came from the store, so it’s basically like I prepared it myself.  Right?

IMG_1621

IMG_1626

Throw the sausage in a medium saucepan and sautee for a few minutes.

IMG_1627

Then add the onion and continue to sautee until translucent.  Add the butternut squash, kale, broth, and water, and bring to a boil.  Then lower the heat and simmer for 20 minutes or so, until the squash is tender.  Add salt, pepper, and red pepper flakes to taste.  And viola, you’re done.  Told you it was easy!  And my husband gave it his stamp of approval.

IMG_1633

IMG_1629 IMG_1631

If you have trouble digesting beans like I do, this soup not only because it’s super clean, but it also includes all foods that are easily digested.  No troublesome things like gluten, beans or legumes.  The sisters at Spinach 4 Breakfast gave this soup the Clean Gut Cleanse stamp of approval for its lack of dairy, processed foods, sugar, gluten, etc.  So you can enjoy this soup knowing you’re also being good to your gut!  (Check out the cleanse for more info on how to support your gut by giving it a break from foods that feed yeast and unhealthy bacteria while providing healthy probiotics and nourishing your gut flora.)  Not to mention it’s super light and healthy with no oil, cream, etc.  Clearly by the photo, I was not personally worried about the gluten, as I enjoyed my bowl with a slice of warm, crusty bread.  Mmmmm.

IMG_1640

I’m off to pack… the husband and I are heading to Vail, Colorado today for a long weekend!  I can’t wait to explore the town, hike, eat, and get some much needed down time with him.  We have plans to rest, connect, and discuss our goals for our businesses and our future.  So important to get away from the daily grind and get a fresh perspective on how life is going, right?  Anyway make sure to include this soup as part of an easy, healthy meal plan for next week.  Perfect for a busy weeknight!  And have a great weekend.

Kale-Sausage-Butternut Squash Soup

Ingredients

4 cups vegetable broth

2 cups water

12 oz. mild Italian chicken sausage, chopped

1 1/2 cups diced butternut squash

1 bunch chopped lacinto (dinosaur) kale

1/2 onion, diced

sea salt, black pepper, and red pepper flakes to taste

Instructions

Sautee the sausage in a medium saucepan for 4-5 minutes, until slightly browned.  Add the onion and continue to sautee until it softens and starts to become translucent.  Then add the butternut squash, kale, broth, and water.  (Amount of water may be adjusted to personal preference of soup’s thickness.)  Bring to a boil, then turn heat to low and simmer for 20-25 minutes, until squash is tender.  Season with salt and pepper to taste, and top with red pepper flakes if desired.

2 thoughts on “Kale-Sausage-Butternut Squash Soup

Leave a Reply

